| I love my Flist and I love my country and I love my new president. |
[Nov. 5th, 2008|01:34 am] |
| [ | Tags | | | politics | ] |
| [ | Current Mood |
| | indescribable happiness | ] |
| [ | Current Music |
| | election news | ] |
YES WE DID. OMG you guys, Barack Obama is our next president! I voted for the first African American president of the United States of America. Wow. I was bummed at work that I was missing everything especially when I met two Obama supporters who invited me to a Obama Presidential viewing party and I had to wait til after 10 to go. But I made it *five* minutes before Obama was projected president and it was amaaaazing. I was screaming and cheering and crying and ecstatic with happiness because our country did it. We elected Barack Obama to be our 44th president. It's still surreal and I can't stop flailing and smiling and being joyful. And randomly bursting out crying. This is historic, this is LEGENDARY.
And thank you, my beautiful Flist for being so happy with me. I made the right decision to go because it was so wonderful to be swept away by all the positive energy in the room, to be with fellow supporters and bathe in that after being surrounded by such negative energy at home. And then I get home to find even more happiness and love and wonder at finally electing Barack on my Flist and I get to celebrate with all you guys cause you're all awesome.
I'm proud of my country! I haven't felt that way for a looong time and for the first time I can have faith that we can make the right decisions and that good will overcome evil, that we always go toward a better direction. America did good, for ourselves and the world and I can't wait to see where we go. And Obama inspires me so much that no matter how much I hate the nasty sides of politics and the conflict and hate and try to stay in my politics free zone, I want to HELP and do something to make this country better. Yes we can. I love that he lays it on us to make the positive changes and not just on him and the government.
I remember when I first heard of Obama's candidacy for presidency back in fall 2006 when I first went to college. The president of our Democrat Club supported him and after I looked him up, I though he was great but because of his race and youth and such, I didn't think he had a shot. How wrong I was and how glad I am of that. Even before that, I saw some of his 2004 Democratic convention speech and was extremely impressed. It's amazing how far he's come and I'm still amazed at all the youth and everyone else he inspired. And the other good news is most of my other local candiates won. I even saw one of them on the way to work and later at the party (a bunch of them were there). Not to mention my old HS voted for Obama 550ish to 130ish. Niice.
That being said, I'm still extremely worried about Prop 8 where we're 6 points down (ETA: 4.8 at 39%) or so with 33% reporting (also check LA Times). It would be such a sad end of the night if that passed and I'd be so disappointed in my state. I just want both my wishes to come true and to be truly happy about this election night. Here's to hope...
I'll be up most of the night so I can follow all the coverage and I look forward to spending it with you guys. Let's keep LJ positive in the next four years! |
|
|
| Marriage is love. |
[Nov. 5th, 2008|11:07 am] |
I don't even know what to say. I was slowly accepting that Prop 8 passed last night and then waking up to it this morning was even more shocking and depressing. For the first time I feel ashamed to be a Californian. At the same time I feel proud to be American and that really, really sucks. It hit me in the car this morning on the way to class and I couldn't stop crying. How can this happen? What is wrong with people? I just don't get it and I doubt I ever will. How can anyone ever understand hate, discrimination and inequality? To take those civil rights away from people is just wrong. I cannot believe people cannot separate religion and government when separation between church and state is so important to this country from the very beginning. And makes me feel even more negative to the destructive part of (some) religions. And the worst part is so many of the same people who voted for Obama voted for this proposition and I find that so hard to believe.
I wish I could have done more. I wish I could have voted, been in California and campaigned and done everything possible to stop this disgusting proposition. It's my own fault though and that frustrates me so much. I want my state to be a beautiful, amazing, equal place to live for everyone and this is such a big stop to this. I can't believe that I trusted this state so much to do the right thing and they didn't. I feel so let down by both them and me.
Randomly bursting into tears because Obama won or because Prop 8 passed? Not fun. I want off this roller coaster right about now. Trying to cope by watching some Queer as Folk vids with plenty of love, kissing, romance and sex and although I don't want Brian and Justin to get married, I want them to have that right. I'm never one to put marriage as the biggest end goal, I NEVER say, I want to get married but I want to find true love/a long term romantic partner/etc but I want everyone that wants to get married, between two consenting adults, to have that chance. At least now that Barack Obama is president I don't have to fear constitutional bans so much and hopefully he'll help inspire people to change their minds.
So what do we do now? I'm not up to speed on California proposition rules (although I really need to catch up) but how do we overturn/repeal/etc Proposition 8? Cause no matter how much I feel beaten down, tired and like I want to give up right now, I know we have to keep fighting til the end of days. And I have to keep remembering that just like we ended slavery and gave black men (and eventually women) the right to vote, ended discrimination in the 60's and now have an African American president, our country will go in the direction of equality, oppurtunity and life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness for all. Which includes gay marriage. We'll get there no matter how much time it takes.
This is also not helped by the fact that even TV is being disrupted by this bigotness. ABC Fires Brooke Smith who basically is in a lesbian relationship on Grey's Anatomy while also changing a future bisexual character straight. I am disgusted and sickened by ABC after admiring them so much for being so gay friendly. Ugh, it just pissed me off so much.
And hopefully, I'll be back to my regularly scheduled fannish activities starting now. It's good to know that I can trust fandom to be decidingly No on Prop 8! |
|
|